18th Symposium
Sustainable Mobility, Transport and Power Generation
(formerly: The Working Process of the Internal Combustion Engine)

23. - 24. September 2021, Graz, Austria

Introduction

 

The demand for mobility, transportation and energy supply is constantly increasing. Various drive concepts based on combustion engines, fuel cells, hybrid and battery-electric systems will be used for this purpose in the future. The main goal and, at the same time, the greatest challenge for their development is environmental compatibility and sustainability. For internal combustion engines, which are used in many cases and in some applications with high energy requirements almost exclusively, the focus is on further reducing pollutant emissions to a „zero impact“ level and achieving extremely ambitious CO2 target values. The essential key technologies for this are to be found in the area of future fuels (e-fuels, etc.), new and further developed engine and exhaust gas aftertreatment concepts, and the electrification of powertrains. An extremely high level of system integration, digitalization and simulation will enable and accompany the path to these new solutions.

During the conference, new approaches and concepts implemented to meet these challenges will be explained and discussed in more than 40 lectures by prominent international experts. The emphasis is on propulsion concepts for passenger cars and trucks as well as large engines, to which a separate parallel session is devoted.

We cordially invite you to participate in a discussion with renowned experts on the state-of-theart of internal combustion engine and fuel cell, their potential as a sustainable propulsion system that will continue to play a central role in a wide range of applications. We are convinced that the event will provide in-depth insight into current research and development results and thus enrich your daily work.

We are pleased that, despite the difficult circumstances, we can hold our as conference "Sustainable Mobility, Transport and Power Generation" as a face-to-face event from September 23-24, 2021 in the Graz Congress, and thus continue a long series of conferences as usual without interruption. Since some participants (mainly from distant countries) are subject to travel restrictions, we have decided to also enable an online-access for this event.

 

We are looking forward to seeing you in Graz!

Helmut Eichlseder und Andreas Wimmer

COVID-19 informationen and measures

 

COVID-19 information and measures. Your safety is our top priority. Our prevention concept is based on the legal requirements as well as the hygiene and prevention concept of the Graz Congress and the State of Styria. The following rules apply...


Read COVID-19 information and measures

Emphasis



Combustion Concepts and Fuels

Efficiency Increase and Emission Reduction


Robust Engine Solutions and System Integration


Electrification and Fuel Cells


Digitalization and Simulation


A comprehensive program with the pioneers and visionaries of the global ecosystem for mobility, transport and energy generation focuses on sustainable solutions in these areas. Following a long tradition, this conference is jointly organized with the LEC (Large Engnies Competence Center). A separate parallel section is dedicated to the field of large engines.

The conference is again organized in cooperation with the Large Engines Competence Center, the LEC.


tugraz-logo.svg

18. Tagung
Nachhaltigkeit in Mobilität, Transport und Energieerzeugung
(vormals: Der Arbeitsprozess des Verbrennungsmotors)

23. - 24. September 2021, Graz, Austria

Grußworte

 

Der Bedarf an Mobilität, Transport und Energiebereitstellung ist stetig steigend. Verschiedene Antriebskonzepte auf Basis von Verbrennungsmotoren, Brennstoffzellen, Hybrid- und Batterieelektrischen Systemen werden zukünftig dafür zur Anwendung kommen. Wesentliches Ziel und gleichzeitig die größte Herausforderung für deren Entwicklung stellen die Umweltverträglichkeit und Nachhaltigkeit dar. Für die vielfach, bei manchen Anwendungen mit hohem Energiebedarf sogar praktisch ausschließlich eingesetzten Verbrennungsmotoren stehen dabei die weitere Reduktion der Schadstoffemissionen bis zu einem „Zero Impact“ Niveau und die Erreichung extrem ambitionierter CO2-Zielwerte im Vordergrund. Die wesentlichen Schlüsseltechnologien sind dafür im Bereich zukünftiger Kraftstoffe (E-Fuels, etc.), neuer und weiterentwickelter Motor- und Abgasnachbehandlungskonzepte sowie der Elektrifizierung von Antrieben zu finden. Ein extrem hohes Maß an Systemintegration, Digitalisierung und Simulation wird den Weg zu diesen neuen Lösungen ermöglichen und begleiten.

Im Rahmen der Tagung werden neue Ansätze und ausgeführte Konzepte zur Lösung dieser Herausforderungen in mehr als 40 Vorträgen herausragender internationaler Experten und Expertinnen erläutert und diskutiert. Die Schwerpunkte liegen auf Antriebskonzepten für PKW und LKW und auf Großmotoren, denen eine eigene Parallelsektion gewidmet ist.

Wir laden Sie herzlich ein, mit ausgewiesenen Experten und Expertinnen den Stand der Technik des Verbrennungs¬motors und Brennstoffzelle, deren Potenziale als nachhaltigen Antrieb, in einer großen Bandbreite von Anwendungen zu diskutieren. Wir sind überzeugt, dass die Veranstaltung einen vertieften Einblick in aktuelle Forschungs- und Entwicklungsergebnisse gewährt und damit eine Bereicherung für Ihre tägliche Arbeit darstellen wird.

Es freut uns, dass wir unsere Tagung "Nachhaltigkeit in Mobilität, Transport und Energieerzeugung" trotz der nicht einfachen Randbedingungen als Präsenzveranstaltung vom 23.-24.9.2021 im Grazer Congress durchführen und damit eine lange Tagungsreihe kontinuierlich und wie gewohnt fortsetzen können. Da einige Teilnehmer (v.a. aus fernen Ländern) Reiserestriktionen unterworfen sind, haben wir beschlossen, für diese Veranstaltung zusätzlich auch einen Online-Zugang zu ermöglichen.

 

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Teilnahme!

Helmut Eichlseder und Andreas Wimmer

COVID-19 Informationen und Maßnahmen

 

Ihre Sicherheit hat für uns höchste Priorität. Unser Präventionskonzept stützt sich auf die gesetzlichen Vorgaben sowie das Hygiene- und Präventionskonzept vom Kongress Graz und dem Land Steiermark. Es gelten dazu folgende Regeln...


COVID-19 Informationen und Maßnahmen lesen

Schwerpunkte



Verbrennungskonzepte und Kraftstoffe

Effizienzsteigerung und Emissionsreduzierung


Robuste Motorkomponenten und Systemintegration


Elektrifizierung und Brennstoffzellen


Digitalisierung und Simulation


Ein umfassendes Programm mit den Pionieren und Visionären des globalen Ökosystems für Mobilität, Verkehr und Energieerzeugung konzentriert sich auf nachhaltige Lösungen in diesen Bereichen. In Anlehnung an eine lange Tradition wird diese Konferenz gemeinsam mit dem LEC (Large Engnies Competence Center) organisiert. Eine separate Parallelsektion widmet sich dem Bereich der Großmotoren.

Die Tagung wird wieder in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Großmotorenkompetenzzentrum, der LEC, veranstaltet.


tugraz-logo.svg