17th SYMPOSIUM

The Working Process of the Internal Combustion Engine

Sustainable Mobility, Transport and Power Generation

26th - 27th September 2019, Graz, Austria

Co-located Events

 

SUSTAINABLE SHIPPING TECHNOLOGIES FORUM

The main objective of the forum is the international networking of research and industry in the field of sustainable shipping technologies. Innovative solutions will be presented and discussed. The program can be found at the website of the Sustainable Shipping Technologies Forum.

 

LEC DATA CHALLENGE

In LEC’s research and development processes, systematic measurements are indispensable for evaluating technological advances. To conduct measurement campaigns as efficiently as possible, it is necessary to check the quality of the data immediately after it is generated directly at the engine test bed. In the event of a measurement fault, the prompt detection of the fault helps to ensure that corrective action is taken – e.g., the replacement of a faulty sensor. There are multiple ways to detect measurement faults, from simple limit checks to model-based methods that consider the physical relationships between the variables. Since physical modeling of highly complex systems is limited, however, fault detection methods are required that are based on historical data instead of explicitly physical knowledge.

With our first LEC Data Challenge, we would like to encourage data-enthusiastic students and practitioners from a variety disciplines to develop data-based fault detection methods that are best suited for LEC’s large engine applications. To this end, a training data set is provided, a second test data set contains multiple faults. The goal is to find as many as possible. The data challenge ranking will be based on the number of correctly classified points (faulty or fault-free). Thus, it is important not to identify fault-free records as faulty or vice versa. Participation in the Challenge is possible from May 1 (earliest data release) to August 19, 2019. Further information can be found at the website of the LEC Data Challenge.

 

tu
ivt
lec

17. TAGUNG

Der Arbeitsprozess des Verbrennungs­motors

Nachhaltigkeit in Mobilität, Transport und Energieerzeugung

26. - 27. September 2019, Graz, Austria

Parallelveranstaltungen

 

SUSTAINABLE SHIPPING TECHNOLOGIES FORUM

Das Hauptziel des Forums ist die Vernetzung internationaler Forscher im Bereich nachhaltiger Technologien für die Schifffahrt. Innovative Lösungsansätze werden vorgestellt und diskutiert. Das Programm findet sich auf der Webseite des Sustainable Shipping Technologies Forum.

 

LEC DATA CHALLENGE

In den Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprozessen des LEC sind systematische Messungen unerlässlich, um den technologischen Fortschritt zu bewerten. Um Messkampagnen so effizient wie möglich zu gestalten, ist es notwendig, die Qualität der Messdaten unmittelbar nach deren Generierung direkt am Motorprüfstand zu überprüfen. Im Falle eines Messfehlers können mit Hilfe einer zeitnahen Fehlererkennung sofort Korrekturmaßnahmen ergriffen werden - z.B. der Austausch eines defekten Sensors. Zur Erkennung von Messfehlern existieren verschiedene Methoden: Von einfachen Grenzwertprüfungen bis hin zu modellbasierten Methoden, die physikalische Zusammenhänge zwischen gemessenen Variablen berücksichtigen. Da der physikalischen Modellierung hochkomplexer Systeme jedoch Grenzen gesetzt sind, gewinnen auch datenbasierte Fehlererkennungsverfahren an Bedeutung.

Mit unserer ersten LEC Data Challenge möchten wir datenbegeisterte Studenten und Praktiker aus verschiedenen Disziplinen ermutigen, datenbasierte Fehlererkennungsmethoden zu entwickeln, die für die Großmotorenanwendungen auf Prüfständen des LEC geeignet sind. Zu diesem Zweck werden ein Trainingsdatensatz sowie ein zweiter, fehlerbehafteter Testdatensatz bereitgestellt. Ziel ist es, im Testdatensatz so viele Fehler wie möglich zu finden. Das Ranking der Data Challenge basiert auf der Anzahl der korrekt klassifizierten Punkte (fehlerhaft oder fehlerfrei). Es ist daher wichtig, fehlerfreie Datensätze nicht als fehlerhaft zu identifizieren oder umgekehrt. Die Teilnahme an der Data Challenge ist vom 1. Mai (früheste Ausgabe der Daten) bis zum 19. August 2019 möglich. Weitere Informationen finden sich unter auf der Webseite der LEC Data Challenge.

 

tu
ivt
lec